Our core programme of free evening
talks on diverse engineering aspects
of engineering culture. Open to all.
Remembering Tony Hunt 1932 - 2022 ****postponed****
tbc 2023
6.00 - 8.00 pm
Norman Foster Foundation c. Tim Street-Porter.
To be confirmed
Free event
Share this talk:
Regrettably we are unable to host this event ‘live’ on Thursday 16 February due to some last minute changes in circumstances and availability. Theses were, as they say, beyond our control and we did have to make a quick decision on whether to find a different venue or to postpone and look for an alternative. In the end we have decided on the latter: Please accept our apologies for the short notice of the change.

We will let you know as soon as we know the new date which will be after Easter 2023.


On behalf of the Engineering ClubTony Hunt’s career in engineering spanned more than 50 years from his Festival of Britain inspired early work with F J Samuely to the formation of his own practice and his key role in developing the structural style most associated with British High Tech and the work of Foster, Rogers, Hopkins, Grimshaw et al.

Amongst other major projects, he worked with Eero Saarinen on the US embassy in London, Alexandra Road with Neave Brown, the Reliance Control Building in Swindon with Team 4, the IBM Building in Portsmouth for Foster Associates and the Eden Project with Grimshaw. He was always fascinated by the broader elements of design from furniture to sand-yachts. and one of his most sought-after publications is his Sketchbook explaining simply how things work.

He helped launch and develop the careers of a number of younger engineers, including the founding partners of AKTII who have kindly hosted this gathering of friends and colleagues to share their thoughts and memories. With additional contributions from, among others, Neil Thomas, Matthew Wells, Bob Barton, Stephen Morley and Mark Whitby.

Image: The project team for the Samuel Beckett Theatre photographed in 1971 at the offices of Foster Associates. From left are: Buckminster Fuller, Michael Hopkins, Tony Hunt, John Walker, Norman Foster and James Meller.